Peanut Butter Fudge

There was a week in elementary school that I had an unquenchable craving for peanut butter fudge. One of the strongest cravings I’ve probably ever had. It was so bad that I would practically daydream about taking a luscious bite of that sugary goodness. One night while at home with my sisters, I began to describe to them my yearning for this prized dessert. I came up with an elaborate story about a dream, where everything was made of peanut butter fudge. I would wake up in a fudge bed, go to a fudge school, and even come home to rollerblade in fudge skates on a fudge road. Apparently my made up dream became believable, as I realized my sisters thought I was truly describing one of my night-time imagination creations. I was simply joking, trying to share my ideas with a fun twist, but my sisters considered it a lie.

No matter what the subject, our words hold amazing power. Proverbs 18:21 tells us that “Life and death are in the power of the tongue,” it even goes on to say that “those who love it will eat its fruit.” The Fall of mankind all started with the fruit of deceitful words. What we say may seem small or insignificant, but it can change eternity by speaking life or death. My little “white lie” or “fib” that I thought was funny, actually changed a part of how my sisters perceived me. For a while afterwards, they did not always know whether I spoke truth or lies; life or death.
Luckily, I have sisters that believe in redemption and know my heart, but that is not always the case. Sometimes we only have one chance to make an impact or impression.

As you go about your week, think carefully about the words you say and how you say them. Choose vocabulary to build others up, doing your best to never tear them down. Always tell the truth. Honesty is the best sign of integrity. Remember, it’s not really worth it to even “fudge” the truth a little. Choose, live, and speak life!

Proverbs 18:21 – Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruit. (NKJV)

1 Thessalonians 5:11 – Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, (NIV)

Leave a Reply

