Birthday Friends

When I was younger, my sisters and I had a particular way of describing our relationships with friends. We would have acquaintances, friends, and then “birthday friends.” At birthday parties we were only allowed to have a certain number of guests, so we would always have to carefully choose which friends to invite. But for my sixth birthday party, the stakes were raised. My cousin Bethany and I have always been very close; she was definitely a “birthday friend.” Unfortunately, that year she could not make my party date, so I had to make a decision. I could either choose to have a larger party with about ten guests, or one with just her.

With God, we often have to make a similar decision. Though we do not have to find His mailing address to send an invitation, we do have to discover where he lies in the priority of our lives. Just as I realized the importance of Bethany in my life and chose her before my other friends, so we must do with Christ. John 15:13 tells us that there is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for a friend. We also see in Proverbs 18:24 that “A man who has friends must himself be friendly.” Jesus has been very friendly towards us, but are we friendly back? Do we choose to be the “friend that sticks closer than a brother”?

I encourage you to choose Jesus today. You may have to give up more notable parties to spend time with Him, but it is always worth it- He gives the best presents 😉 Let’s make Jesus a birthday friend.

Proverbs 18:24 – A man who has friends must himself be friendly, But there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

John 15:13 – Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.

Leave a Reply

